Lothar Kämpfe Publikation Award

The "Lothar Kämpfe Publikation Award" was founded in 2008 in honour for the life-time achievement of our Emeritus Prof. Dr. Lothar Kämpfe and is awarded to young researcher of our institute in an annual basis. 

The award will be given to the leading author for the best publication of the previous year (date of the printed version or online version with DOI).

Guidelines for the Application

Applicants must have been members of the Institute of Zoology in the year of publication and must be the first author of the submitted work. Articles from the previous year in which the prize is awarded that originate from B.Sc., M.Sc. or doctoral studies and are submitted no later than one year after the first author's doctoral studies will be considered. Self-applications and nominations by other members of the institute are possible. Proposals are accepted by the Executive Director of the Institute (pdf file by e-mail, CC Kerstin Wulff). The deadline for submission and application is 31 March of the year following the year of publication of the work.

Selection Criteria

The group leaders and post-docs of the Institute of Zoology evaluate the submitted papers according to quality criteria, especially according to:

  • originality (hypotheses, theories, models, etc),
  • relevance for the respective field of research,
  • quality (methods, analyses, implications),
  • presentation of the data and
  • reputation of the journal in the respective field of research.



Year Awardee Publication
2022 Carolin Mundinger Proceedings of the Royal Society B 288: 20210508.
2021 Philip O.M. Steinhoff Journal of Comparative Neurology 528: 1883-1902.
2020 Gerlien Verhaegen Zoological Letters 5:5
2019 Gerlien Verhaegen Organisms Diversity & Evolution 18: 425-441
2018 Susan Zielske Journal of Biogeography 44: 195-206
2017 Caroline R. Schöner Journal of Ecology 115: 400-411
2016 Michael Schöner Current Biology 25: 1-6
2015 Elisabeth Lipke Journal of Morphology 275: 1238-1257
2014 Daniela Fleischmann Current Biology 23: 1-5
2013 Katrin Kunz Animal Behaviour 83: 511-517
2012 Lara Lopardo Cladistics 27: 278-330
2011 Andy Sombke Chemical Senses 36: 43-61
2010 Sabine Ziesemer American Journal of Physiology - Lung Cell Mol Physiol 296: L470-L479
2009 Isabell Karl Oikos 117: 778-788, 2008
2008 Stefanie Bauerfeind Evolution 61: 2374-2385, 2007